2005 OCIABC Communicator Awards

Bronze Beacon Awards

The 2005 competition resulted in Awards of Merit  and Awards of Excellence  in these categories:

Awards in the Writing category recognize effective use of language, style and structure in published work, scripts or speeches. Special consideration is given to clear, lively writing that draws the readers in.

  • Merit:    Mark Goldstein, Standard Insurance Company (Straddling the Line Between the Old West and the New)
  • Excellence:  Shelly Meyer, Lewis and Clark College (Postcards from a New President)
  • Merit: Mark Goldstein, Standard Insurance Company  (The Standard at 100: A Look Back at Our History)
  • Excellence: Kermit Cantwell, Cantwell Communications (Mayo Model of Care Video Script)
  • Merit: Overland Agency (GoRachaelGo. com)

Entries in the design category represent an organizational brand identity or other project where design is the primary communication function or tool. These awards recognize Excellence:  in graphic design, creative design solutions and production within budget.

  • Merit: Overland Agency (GoRachaelGo. com) 

The publications category combines the criteria of design, visual arts and writing. Entries in the publication category are evaluated for their overall presentation and their ability to communicate consistently and effectively. Awards recognize entries that demonstrate a high level of creativity and expertise in all aspects of design, graphics, images, writing, editing and production.

  • Excellence:  Anna Browne & Mark Goldstein, Standard Insurance Company (The Standard Magazine)
  • Merit: Julie Piper Finley, Loaves & Fishes Centers (Loaves & Fishes 2004 Annual Report)
  • Merit:   Julie Piper Finley, Loaves & Fishes Centers (Prime Time Newsletter)
  • Excellence:  Glenn Perkins, Wells Fargo (The Link Newsletter)
  • Merit:   Nancy Varekamp (Safety Times)
  • Excellence:   Nancy Varekamp (Wellness First)

Audio/Visual Communications

  • Excellence: Mark Goldstein, Standard Insurance Company (Growing our Asset Management Business)
  • Merit:   Pat Snyder, Geyser Observation and Study Assn.  (Geyser Photo Series for GOSA)

Electronic and Interactive Communications
The electronic and interactive communications category recognizes excellence in computer-based or electronically distributed communication programs. Awards recognize both the quality of the information presented, as well as the ability to access and navigate the information easily.

  • Excellence: Erin Isselmann, Xerox Corp.   (Xerox@Work)
  • Merit:   Eric Husayn Coleman, Standard Insurance Co. (StandardNet Banner Ads)

Communication Management
Entries in the Communication Management category demonstrate the entrant’s overall management of an effective communication program. Rather than focusing on the program components themselves (the key criteria for the Communication Programs & Promotional Campaigns category), awards recognize the entrant’s full range of communication management skills, including research, strategy, planning, implementation, measurement, and evaluation. 

  • Excellence: Erin Isselmann, Xerox Corp. (Xerox Office Makeover Contest)

Communication Programs and Promotional Campaigns
Entries in the communications programs and promotional campaigns category include projects, programs and campaigns defined by a well-developed communication plan, including research, strategy, planning, implementation, measurement and evaluation. Awards recognize achievement in communicating a variety of messages to a wide range of audiences through creative planning, use of materials and ability to obtain the desired results.

  • Excellence:    Erin Isselmann, Xerox Corp.  (Xerox Color Sense Event with WorkCentre C2424 Launch)
  • Merit:  Sheree Fitzpatrick , FitzPR Group (Safeguard Ventures Media Relations)
  • Merit:   Tiana Tozer, Standard Insurance Co. (Corporate Identity Campaign Press Kit)
  • Merit:   Strategic Communications Team, Conkling Fiskum & McCormick (Keeping SAIF Safe — Defeating Measure 38)
  • Excellence: Erin Isselmann, Xerox Corp. (Xerox Office Makeover Contest)



Chapter Service Awards

Rodney Adair Memorial Award

More than twenty years ago, Rodney Adair left Oregon Columbia IABC with a legacy of active membership and dedicated service. After he died tragically in a car accident, the chapter created the Rodney Adair Memorial Award in 1980 “for sustained and exceptional service to the association and for professional advancement.” This is the highest honor our chapter can bestow to a member.

Barbara Bryant

Chapter Service/Volunteer Award

In appreciation for their dedicated service to Oregon Columbia International Association of Business Communicators for their volunteer efforts during the 2004-2005 year:

  • Jayne Nanavaty-Dahl
  • Anna Browne
  • Sue Brundege
  • Mark Goldstein
  • Kristin Olson
  • Pat Snyder