Meet the Board

IABC Oregon-Columbia board members serve one-year terms. Each board member leads a committee of members and volunteers to plan and organize events for chapter membership.

Contact us to help your local chapter by volunteering to serve on a committee.

2021-2022 Officers and Board

Theresa Staples, President, IABC/Oregon-ColumbiaPresident
Theresa Staples, Genentech
A long time IABC Member, she joined the Oregon Columbia chapter when she moved to Portland in 2018. Over the years she worked in many areas of communications. Most recently she focuses on internal communications and organizational change management. Her experience spans industries from high technology to real estate and healthcare. Theresa enjoys spending time at home with her husband and three cats, Mister, Arya and Luna.


Board member at large
Scenna Shipley, Shipmate Strategic Communications
Known as a creative thinker and collaborative leader, Scenna brings to IABC more than 18 years of progressive experience in marketing, communications, public relations, public affairs, brand strategy, business development and stakeholder engagement. A wide range of corporate and private not-for-profit industry experience is enhanced by four years in radio and television journalism. In multiple roles, she has led integrated marketing and communications strategies, managed highly strategic public relations programs, and holds extensive experience in international marketing and communications. Scenna is also currently pursuing her Master’s in Business Administration at Marylhurst University.

Chris Wain

Past President
Chris Wain, Oregon Health and Science University
A former president of IABC’s Oregon-Columbia Chapter, Chris continues his service on the board. He is a Communications Consultant with Legacy Health. He is an accomplished communications and eBusiness professional with comprehensive experience in internal communications, marketing communications, product and service positioning, web design, development, and metrics. Chris also won IABC Oregon-Columbia Rodney Adair Award in 2014.